College of Science and Liberal Arts

The History of CSLA

The College of Science and Liberal Arts was formed in 1982.  It was then known as the Third College because it had been preceded by NJIT’s Newark College of Engineering and the New Jersey School of Architecture.  Growing steadily ever since, CSLA has spawned two of NJIT’s six schools and colleges: Albert Dorman Honors College, which evolved out of the Honors Program that was founded in CSLA in 1985, and the College of Computing Sciences, which developed out of CSLA’s Computer and Information Science Department.

In 1986 the name of the college was changed to the College of Science and Liberal Arts as a result of a more sharply defined mission and direction.  Great expansion followed and today the college consists of six academic departments:

all of which are active not only in educating our students but also in research.

CSLA also houses

Blackmore Named Distinguished Teacher

Research at NJIT Has Many New Faces

Why Does the Remora Suck?

An Architect, and Engineer and an Actuary All Find a Place...